Shrubs-the perfect summer beverage

Have you ever had a shrub? They are a fruit based mixture that you cure for a few days and then add vinegar and steep longer and end up with a lively shrub that you can add to club soda or a cocktail. I am crazy about these and we briefly had a great Thai restaurant that had four shrubs on their menu. I have been making these as I see the perfect fruit come to market. So far I have strawberry, raspberry, blueberry, cherry and I just made this wild lavender kumquat shrub! I first started making these from my favorite blog, use real butter and haven’t stopped. They seem to last forever in the refrigerator and it so refreshing on a warm day.
Summer shrubs 2014
The basic recipe is equal portions fruit and sugar to soak and then strain the fruit out and combine with the same amount of vinegar of your choice. The lavender shrub I made today is the wildest combination of ingredients and I can’t wait to try it! The inspiration was finding gorgeous California kumquats in the market and then I made an early harvest of lavender from my garden. I ordered the blood orange balsamic vinegar online as I was so excited to try the recipe!
Lavender shrub
1 c. brown sugar
2 T. pink peppercorns (very interesting-not real peppercorns-tons of flavor
2 T. ch. lemongrass
4 T. dried lavender
1 1/2 c. chopped kumquats
Mix together, kneading with your hands gently in a bowl. Cover and refrigerate 24 hours. Strain the liquid and add:
2/3 c. blood orange balsamic vinegar (I am sure you could sub. regular)
1/3 c. cider vinegar
Pour into a jar and use as you wish.

2 thoughts on “Shrubs-the perfect summer beverage

  1. Meg Cusack June 22, 2014 / 2:00 pm

    Looks great, Anne! Really nice post and perfect linking to the relevant sites. You are a pro blogger now! 🙂 Meg

    • whatsanniecooking June 22, 2014 / 7:05 pm

      Thanks Meg-you are our teacher and inspiration!!

Leave a Reply

