Nana’s Chili Con Carne

My paternal grandmother was the best cook! The smell of this chili cooking takes me back to my grandmother’s house! This is a very simple basic recipe but I love it. You could add anything you wanted to perk it up and/or garnish it with scallions, cheese and whatever you like!

Nana's chili con carne

1 1/2# ground beef or less as desired

2 medium onions, sliced

2 t. minced garlic

1 T. brown sugar

1 heaping T. chili powder

1 T. tomato paste

1 can kidney beans, not drained

1 14 oz. can stewed or diced tomatoes and juice

1+ stalk celery sliced ( I add 3 as I love celery)

2 t. salt

1/2 t. pepper

Brown meat, onions, and garlic. Add rest of ingredients and simmer one hour. Freezes well.

Leave a Reply

