My Mother

My mother did not know how to cook when she got married. She had five daughters in  6 1/2 years and was way too busy to finally become an incredible cook until after we were out of the house. She compiled two great cookbooks, one on desserts and the other on soups. I am so happy to have all of her recipes and make her soups often. I was just visiting and made her Broccoli Soup. Mushroom Soup, Tomato Soup and Gazpacho! She has notes in her recipe book of what pan to use and other modifications she made to the recipe! I love cooking with another person and it is so much fun to share the techniques and final product!

Mom and roses

Cream of Broccoli Soup

Makes 1 quart and doubles easily

1/2 sliced onion

1 sliced shallot

1 t. minced garlic

4 oz. sliced mushrooms (optional)

2 T.  minced parsley

Add and blend in:

1 T. cornstarch

1 can (14 1/2 oz.) chicken broth (I dissolve the cornstarch in a little bit of the stock until smooth and then add)

1 pkg.(10 oz.) chopped broccoli

2 boullion cubes (also optional-I use a vegetable broth cube)

Bring to a boil and simmer 10-15 minutes.

Cool and puree until smooth. Add

1/2-3/4 cup half and half.

Can be served hot or cold.

Mom's soup cookbook

3 thoughts on “My Mother

  1. Marilyn Callender May 30, 2013 / 7:55 am

    That is such a wonderful story of your Mom’s cooking. I always thought my Mom was a great cook until I started cooking myself. My Mom’s was the worst I decided.

  2. Marge Hohman June 17, 2013 / 7:39 am

    I didn’t know this! (Mom’s Cookbooks). She was always a great cook. We had so much fun and great meals when the Fearsome Foursome got together for dinners and our fabulous pig roasts. Sure do miss those times.

    • whatsanniecooking August 10, 2013 / 1:28 pm

      Yes you had the best times together!!

Leave a Reply

