The best Lasagna

I made David Rocco’s Lasagna from Dolce Vita and it is fantastic. You layer bolognese, bechamel sauce, and mozzarella cheese, finishing the last layer with grated Parmesan. You could use other cheeses, like taleggio and/or ricotta. You could also add a layer of spinach or other greens. I used Molto Mario’s bolognese sauce (see December 8 entry). It is better to use the next recipe I post that is perfect for this lasagna! This recipe makes a large rectangular pan. I made a half batch and it worked out fine. My rule of thumb with lasagna is to make it a day ahead or at least a morning ahead-there are so many dishes involved that it is good to get it out of the way!

Lasagna
Lasagna

6 cups of bolognese sauce

1 # lasagna sheets (see note below-I used cooked noodles)

3 cups bechamel sauce (4 T. butter, 4 T. flour, 4 c. hot milk)

3 cups grated mozzarella

freshly grated parmesan

Bechamel Sauce

4 T. butter

4 T. flour

4 cups milk

Heat up milk, just to before a boil. Set aside. Melt butter, stir in flour with a whisk and cook a few minutes. Add milk slowly, whisking until absorbed.

Layer pan with a little bolognese, layer of lasagna noodles (the author says you can use dry lasagna noodles which I did not try because my bolognese sauce is not very tomatoey) bolognese sauce, drizzle béchamel, sprinkle with mozzarella. Repeat 3 or 4 times and the last layer should be pasta, bolognese, parmesan. Bake at 375 for 40 minutes. I baked my smaller version covered. Let rest before serving.

Leave a Reply

